Treasure Hunting at Yard Sales

20 Jun

Yard sale-ing. You either love it, or you hate it. I for one, LOVE IT!  I love it when it’s nice and hot, ok, not hot, but sunny, and just the perfect temperature to cruise around and look for hidden treasures.  It’s even better though when there’s a community sale and the whole family and I could just get out of the car and walk. The kids love it also. They especially love the “free” box! But just like couponing is now, (since that little show on TLC aired), you either score a great deal or you don’t. Obviously it’s more fun when you find what you’re looking for and you can snag it for a price you’re willing to pay.

A few weekends ago, I finally SCORED what I was looking for! I had been looking for a dresser for my oldest daughter for quite a few months, with no luck on Craigslist. Yard sale-ing season has been tough for me this year, due to the lack of sun, and of course on this one, very rare, sunny Saturday, my schedule was just jammed packed. I really wasn’t even yard sale-ing but driving home to grab something when I spotted a yard with a few pieces of furniture. Like a kid in a candy store, I got out and checked out the dresser. Let me tell ya, it was not pretty. The drawers didn’t slide or glide as smoothly as I would of liked but I had to look past it’s flaws and look for it’s beauty like I try to with everything else.

At first, I wasn’t sure, but they also had a little desk there and I had been looking for one of those too, so I thought, what the heck. One was marked $10 and the other $5. Now, a part of yard sale-ing is the bargaining. I’m usually not the bargaining type (at yard sales, I mean) and $15 for two pieces of furniture is not bad. But for the shape they were in, and the work I knew I had to do, I didn’t want to pay that. I was also feeling brave. So I decided to low ball it and offer $5 for both. She accepted!! SCORE!! WooHoo! I was very proud of myself. So here’s what the dresser looked like.

 

Not too pretty huh? Well, buying it, I knew I was going to be putting in a little work to make it pretty. I did this project before I started the blog so I don’t have more pictures to share of the process, but I lightly sanded it down, took out the drawers and laid them out on the drive way, and then my Hubby helped me spray paint it. I love spray painting! It is so much faster. It took us a couple of hours from start to finish and I am very pleased with the end result!

Super cute huh?! I love it! I would say, money well spent, or saved. We haven’t finished the desk yet but I’ll definitely share the results with ya when I’m done! So here are some of my tips for you about yard sale-ing

  • Do some research online or through your local paper to see where the sales are and to plan out a route.
  • Take cash with you
  • Don’t be afraid to haggle on the price. People want to get rid of their items!
  • Check to see if there is a “free” box. You might get lucky and find something you’ve been looking for.
  • If there are a lot of items that you want at one yard, see if they are willing to do a “fill a bag” or “fill a box” sale. For example, $5 for a grocery bag that you get to stuff with as much clothes as you can fit.
I’m hoping we get more sunshine here soon so I can venture out and find some more treasure out there. Have you gone out and found anything exciting lately? Please feel free to comment and share and happy Yard Sale-ing!
 
 
3 Responses to “Treasure Hunting at Yard Sales”

  1. thriftynwmom June 23, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    That turned out super cute! I love garage sales, too! It’s hard to pass by a garage sale when I’m driving by. 🙂 By the way, do you live in the Puyallup area?

    • living on less in the northwest June 24, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      Why Thank You! Hopefully we get more yard sale weekends!;-) Yes, I do live in Puyallup. I think around your ‘hood. I miss my 160th Albertson’s:'( I started following your blog when you mentioned you shopped there. You’re AMAZING! Thanks for stopping by=D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturday Sales! « It Just Dawned On Me - June 25, 2011

    […] Treasure Hunting at Yard Sales (livingonlessinthenorthwest.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

