Week 2 August Menu Plan

10 Aug

Whoops. Sorry. I didn’t realize that I was behind on the menu plan. Here’s what we are having.

9th: Teriyaki chicken. I actually have a slow cook recipe that I love to use for Teriyaki Chicken, but tonight I used a make-ahead meal that I had made. What I did was cut about two chicken breasts into chunks and froze it in a quart size bag with some of the free, Lawry’s Teriyaki Marinade, that I had gotten at Albertson’s. I actually didn’t even thaw it. I just put the frozen meat and marinade into a pan, splashed a little bit of water over it, covered it, and simmered it over medium heat. I stirred every 5 minutes until the meat looked cooked. Served over rice and broccoli.

10th: Salmon. We actually planned on having salmon on Saturday because my Husband gauranteed me he’d catch one by then. I was a little worried about that plan but he got off of work early today and it was his lucky day! His first catch of the season! So proud of him. He beat me home and was supposed to start the manicotti’s that was on the menu but I told him let’s eat the salmon instead. He slathered the salmon with garlic, mayo, peppercorns, and other ingredients and grilled it on the BBQ. I would have taken a picture but it was so yummy that it went too quickly in my tummy=D

11th: Burgers

12th:Sticky Chicken This is one of our family’s absolute favorite’s. It rarely happens, but if there are any leftover’s of this dinner, there’s a fight for it;-) FYI, I usually eyeball the ingredients so the amounts in this recipe are not an exact science.  I hope you try it because it really is yummy!

about 2lbs of boneless, skinless, chicken thighs cut into 1inch chunks

about 1/4 cup of cornstarch- I usually just make sure there is a light coating of cornstarch on the chicken

1/4 to 1/2 cup of soy sauce- I just drizzle over chicken until it looks moist with soy

1 cup of crushed croutons-  once again, I add until it makes a good coating over the chicken.

Green onions

Rice

I like to coat the chicken in the cornstarch first, then add the soy and mix, then add the crushed croutons and mix till the chicken is coated. Let the chicken sit in the fridge for at least 20 minutes. Put a little oil in a pan over medium/high heat. Cook the chicken for about 25 minutes stirring about every 5 so that the chicken is evenly cooked. Sprinkle the green onions on once it’s cooked and serve over rice.  I’m telling ya, this is yummy! Let me know if you try it.

13th: Salmon.  Hubby is planning on catching another salmon by today so hopefully he does. Otherwise, we will have the manicotti’s.

14th: Meatloaf.  Next time you make meatloaf, try making a double batch. I love the cook once and eat twice meals. I made extra last time. I cut the cooked meatloaf into slices and laid them flat and froze them. So tonight’s meal will be easy peasy. Just reheat in the microwave until warm.  That means we get to play today!=D

15th: Chicken Fettucine

Well that’s this weeks plan. But before I go, I want to share a really yummy Taco seasoning mix recipe with ya. On last week’s menu, we had nacho’s. I was all out of taco seasoning mix so I looked up a homemade recipe.

Taco Seasoning Mix

1/4 cup chili powder
1 1/2 tsp onion powder
1 1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 1/2 tsp cumin
1 1/2 oregano
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp cayenne peppers
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
 
Mix all the ingredients above in a small bowl.  Keep fresh in an air tight container for up to 6 months.
To use:  substitute 2 rounded Tablespoons for 1 packet of taco seasoning.
 
You can check out the original recipe here. I just added the cayenne. Enjoy!
 
One Response to “Week 2 August Menu Plan”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Grand Budget Cooking Plan… « Soli Make's…. - August 12, 2011

    […] Week 2 August Menu Plan (livingonlessinthenorthwest.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

